Français Facebook Contact Home

Flower of light!
My dance soars up from the earth
To take you between my fingers.
Charles Van Lerberghe

Eve

Artistic path

Eve began to take lessons at the academy at the age of 7, studying music and classical dance, and later completed with distinction the full cycle of drama. She also took drawing lessons with the artist Perrine Moreau and initially contemplated making a career out of this. However, when the time came to make life’s big decisions, she found herself gravitating towards linguistics. She gained her masters in Romance Language Philology and her teaching qualification at the ULB (University of Brussels). She then went on to spend seven years working as an editor in the domain of occupational safety and health an ergonomics.

Eve always felt the need to exercise the body as well as the mind and so, alongside all of this, she experimented with different types of dance. It was by immersing herself in the culture of the Middle East that she discovered an unique experience : oriental dance. She then began to train intensively as of 1996 with renowned professors such as Gudrun (BE), Myriam Szabo (PT), Kamellia (FR), Serena Ramzy (GB), Annie Nganou (FR), Lulu Sabongi (BR) and the Egyptian artists Shokry Mohammed, Suraya Hilal, Raqia Hassan, Gamal Seif...

Later she extended her repertoire to include folk dances from North Africa and Turkish gypsy dances, through her discovery of cultures, travels and training with Annick Baillieul, Nil Yogurtcu, Simona Jovic,...

Since 2007, she made the decision to devote herself wholly to dance and set up different projects and collaborations in the area of the music and dances of the East.

Body and movement

In a quest to explore the very foundations of movement, she explored various pathways such as qi gong, la danza duende, the Feldenkrais method and tried her hand at contemporary dance, mime and even aerial silk. For 6 years she especially practised traditional Tibetan yoga, an understated approach which is focused on internal work.

Witnessing the special nature of Egyptian dance spurred her on to seek out nuanced approaches. She then spent several years attending study weekends of Malkovsky's Danse libre with Suzanne Bodak in Paris, and get trained in Noh theatre and aiki (essence of martial arts), benefiting from the exceptional teaching of Masato Matsuura Sensei (Japan).

Furthemore, thanks to her contacts with cultures where dance plays a prominent role (The East, Africa), she encounters authentic dance of the people, who make it different from stage adaptations and the Western way of moving.

The quest for authenticity remains a leitmotiv in her practice of afro-latin dances : salsa and rueda (Cuban style), semba (Angola).

All of these experiences would prove to be key in her definition of natural movement (see page Oriental dance).

She also trained in protective stretching techniques (especially Robert Bral’s restructuring physiological stretching) which resulted in a holistic approach to flexibility (see Flexibility).

Rhythm and music

In order to examine the specific relationship with rhythm and music in Eastern cultures, Eve also sought out methods other than those found within the Western academic framework. In addition to the principles demonstrated by Malkovsky, she acquired the basics of rhythmics at the Jaques Dalcroze Institute in Brussels where she obtained a certificate in 2010.

She regularly trains with rhythm specialists such as Arnould Massart, Brigitte Platteau, Michel Debrulle and takes part in workshops such as the "TaKeTiNa" method. She organises projects in which she collaborates with either academic or traditionally-trained musicians and incorporates her own observations and experiences. Her interpretation of natural movement is a completely coherent one, linking the body, rhythm and energy.

All of this combined has caused Eve to develop a refined and lively style of dance which is close to that performed by the dancers of the Golden Age of the Middle-East. It is a unique sensitivity of the body, unknown in the West and under threat from the western influence, that she seeks to convey through her services, lessons and projects.

Shows & Projects Lessons & Training Flexibility

English Facebook Contact Accueil

Fleur de lumière !
Ma danse s'élance de la terre
Pour te saisir entre mes doigts.
Charles Van Lerberghe

Eve

Chemin artistique

Dès 7 ans, Eve suit des cours de musique et de danse classique en académie, et réussit avec distinction le cycle complet d'art dramatique. Elle prend aussi des cours de dessin avec l'artiste Perrine Moreau, suivant son premier geste dont elle pense plus tard faire un métier. C'est toutefois vers la linguistique qu'elle se tournera à l'âge des grands choix de vie. Elle acquiert le master en philologie romane et l'AESS (ULB) et travaille pendant 7 ans comme rédactrice dans le domaine de la sécurité et de la santé au travail et de l'ergonomie.

Parallèlement, le besoin d'un travail du corps se faisant toujours sentir, elle touche à différentes danses. Mais c'est en se plongeant dans la culture du Proche-Orient qu'elle découvre un expérience unique : la danse orientale. Elle s'y forme alors de manière intensive à partir de 1996 avec des professeurs de qualité tels que Gudrun (BE), Myriam Szabo (PT), Kamellia (FR), Serena Ramzy (GB), Annie Nganou (FR), Lulu Sabongi (BR) et les Egyptiens Shokry Mohammed, Suraya Hilal, Raqia Hassan, Gamal Seif,...

Plus tard, elle étend son répertoire aux danses populaires d'Afrique du Nord et à la danse tzigane turque, à travers le contact avec les cultures, des voyages et des formations avec Annick Baillieul, Nil Yogurtcu, Simona Jovic,...

Depuis 2007, elle se consacre entièrement à la danse et met sur pied différents projets et collaborations autour des musiques et des danses d'Orient (voir Projets).

Corps et mouvement

Cherchant à remonter aux fondements du mouvement, Eve explore des voies diverses telles que le qi gong, la danza duende, la méthode Feldenkrais et s'essaie à la danse contemporaine, au mime ou encore au tissu aérien. Elle pratique surtout pendant 6 ans le yoga tibétain traditionnel, une voie sobre et axée sur le travail interne.

Parallèlement, les spécificités de la danse égyptienne la poussent à chercher des approches de plus en plus sensibles. Elle suit alors pendant plusieurs années les week-ends d'étude de la Danse libre de Malkovsky avec Suzanne Bodak à Paris et surtout le théâtre Nô et l'aiki (essence des arts martiaux), bénéficiant de l'enseignement exceptionnel de Masato Matsuura Sensei (Japon).

En outre, grâce à son contact avec les cultures dansantes (Orient, Afrique), elle observe la danse authentique des gens et ce qui la distingue des adaptations scéniques et de la manière de bouger occidentale.

C'est dans la même recherche d'authenticité qu'elle pratique les danses afro-latines : salsa et rueda (style cubain), semba (Angola).

Ces apports seront décisifs dans sa définition du mouvement naturel et des principes qui le sous-tendent (voir Danse orientale), et plus largement de la conception "orientale" du corps.

Enfin, elle se forme à des techniques d'assouplissement posturales (notamment l'approche de Robert Bral) et aboutit à une approche holistique de la souplesse (voir Assouplissement).

Rythme et musique

Pour aborder le rapport au rythme et à la musique propre aux cultures orientales, Eve cherche des méthodes plus adaptées que celles du cadre académique occidental. Outre les principes musicaux mis en évidence par Malkovsky, elle acquiert les bases de rythmique à l'Institut Jaques Dalcroze de Bruxelles, dont elle obtient un brevet en 2010 et adapte les principes dans son enseignement.

Elle continue à se former régulièrement auprès de spécialistes du rythme comme Arnould Massart, Brigitte Platteau, Michel Debrulle et participe à des ateliers comme la méthode "TaKeTiNa". Elle organise des projets où elle collabore avec des musiciens issus du monde académique ou traditionnel, et mène ses propres observations et expériences. Sa conception du mouvement naturel s'organise ainsi en un tout cohérent liant le corps, le rythme et l'énergie.

A travers ce cheminement, Eve a développé une danse raffinée et vivante, proche des danseuses de l'Age d'Or du Proche-Orient. C'est une sensibilité unique du corps, méconnue en Occident et menacée par l'influence occidentale, qu'elle cherche à transmettre à travers ses prestations, ses cours et ses projets.

Spectacles & Projets Cours & Stages Assouplissement